mostly music

The Jive Five – My True Story

The Jive Five is an American doo-wop group. They are best known for their debut hit single, “My True Story” (1961), and the fact that they outlasted most of their doo-wop musical peers, by re-modelling themselves as a soul group in the 1960s and beyond.

This entry was published on March 22, 2016 at 8:35 am. It’s filed under Music Video, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “The Jive Five – My True Story

  1. Thanks for the link! Eugene Pitt and The Jive Five… All I can say is WOW! I have always felt that Eugene along with Tony Williams of The Platters we’re among the top male vocalists of all time. When I was on Facebook, I recall, Eugene being represented there by his manager Mary Garcelon, who is very nice and has a great page.
    Just within the last two weeks, Maurice Williams of The Zodiacs, Gladiolas etc has become active on Facebook. He, along with so many other surviving rock and roll pioneering Legends love meeting their fans on Facebook.
    Thanks for the terrific post and the link!

    • Hello Tom,

      Nice to hear from you again and thanks for the kind words.

      I think this song is on a Doo Wop compilation I have and when I heard it, I thought it was fantastic. It made me think of Franki Valli and The Four Seasons a little, I have to say. Some great groups were around then, that’s for sure!

      Interesting what you mention about legends on Facebook, definitely worth following up.

      Thanks again,

      Lara

Comments are closed.

