mostly music

TateShots: Shirazeh Houshiary – Studio Visit

sculpture Angel with ten thousand wings (1988)...

“The black square is a protest against knowing.” Houshiary discusses how she wants art to have an ambiguity, to make you think and question, not just to show and tell.

At first glance, Houshiary’s Veil, 1999, is a square, black painting. but as we see in this video, Houshiary’s work on canvas is built up through layers of pigment and geometric markmaking. Born in Iran, Shirazeh Houshiary has lived and worked in England since 1973, and her work has consistently drawn on Islamic traditions, particularly on Sufi mysticism.

This entry was published on November 3, 2015 at 9:38 am. It’s filed under Documentary, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “TateShots: Shirazeh Houshiary – Studio Visit

  1. Hi, thank you for introducing this interesting artist to me. I also actually try to follow the art scene in Iran. Here my posts related to art in Iran:
    http://theotheriran.com/tag/art/

    I hope there in some interesting info for you there.
    Best regards,
    Amir

    • Hi Amir,

      Thanks very much for your kind words and for the link. This video caught my curiosity because of the artist’s background and I’m sure there is a lot more to Iranian art than we generally see in the Media.

      I’ll take a look at your site as soon as I can and would encourage other people to do the same.

      All the best,

      Lara

      • Hi Lara, yes there is a huge art scene in Iran. Just yesterday I published a new article about an art gallery by another interesting Iranian artist.
        Thank you,
        Amir

Comments are closed.

